David Rakoff on being creative and “Rent”

After FINALLY completing the Game of Thrones audiobook series, my morning drive became quite dull until I remembered I had the This American Life app and, duh, This American Life (TAL) is basically MY american life. (I’m not sure what that means exactly but any chance to bring the focus back to me is really what I strive for on a daily basis.) (Joking.) (Am I?)

Last week’s episode featured stories from longtime contributor and prizewinning humorist, David Rakoff. Unfortunately, David passed away last week at the way-too-young age of 47 after his cancer reappeared in his shoulder. To celebrate his life, the TAL team put together a show completely dedicated to David and there was one piece in particular that really struck a nerve with me.

I hope you all enjoyz it!

The whole segment is great but you can skip to 3:13 for the “Rent” story (although I don’t recommend it).

Leave a Reply

